

MEDIA RELEASE — 2015 LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL ELECTIONS

2015 Legislative Council election dates announced

The Tasmanian Electoral Commission today announced the timetable for the 2015 Legislative Council elections to be held in the divisions of Derwent, Mersey and Windermere.

The Legislative Council is the upper house of our State Parliament and voting is compulsory for electors in these divisions.

It is expected that Her Excellency the Governor will issue writs with the following dates—

- Issue of writs and close of electoral rolls......6 pm Monday 30 March 2015

- Polling day...... 8 am 6 pm Saturday 2 May 2015

Derwent is a southern division which includes the Brighton and Derwent Valley municipal areas, along with Granton, Austins Ferry and northern Claremont, and the southern part of Central Highlands municipal area which excludes Bothwell.

Mersey, in the north west, includes Devonport City municipal area, Latrobe township, Tarleton, Forth, Leith, Turners Beach, Kindred, and parts of Wesley Vale and Moriarty.

The northern division of Windermere includes George Town municipal area, the East Tamar, and the northern and some eastern suburbs of Launceston City.

ENDS — 12:00 noon Monday 16 February 2015

1 page

For further information — Julian Type ELECTORAL COMMISSIONER

Andrew Hawkey Deputy Electoral Commissioner

